ARC CEO Prof Aidan Byrne’s presentation at the 2015 NECTAR Retreat

Byrne bio photo

Professor Aidan Byrne
Chief Executive Officer, Australian Research Council (ARC)
BSc and MSc (Auckland), PhD (ANU)

Professor Aidan Byrne was an invited keynote speaker for NECTAR’s 2015 Early Career Academic Retreat, held 10-11 June 2015. NECTAR was delighted that Professor Byrne could speak to us at the retreat.

Professor Byrne has kindly made available a copy of his presentation slides which you can now access from the ARC website on the presentations page. (See the entry: 10 June 2015: NECTAR Early-Career Academic Retreat – The Australian National University – (30 pages, 2MB, PDF) – (30 pages, 4MB, Powerpoint). In his presentation, Professor Byrne highlighted the ARC’s DECRA grant scheme for Early Career Researchers and recent changes to the scheme including new rules reflecting understanding of the career interruptions that are increasingly part of post-PhD life, and also provided advice for building a research career.

Professor Aidan Byrne is CEO of the Australian Research Council. He was appointed in July 2012. Professor Byrne is a welcomed force at the ARC to help deliver its key priorities and deliverables.

Previously the Dean of Science and the Director of the ANU College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Professor Byrne brings with him a wealth of industry knowledge and expertise particularly in the Physical and Mathematical Sciences and Engineering.

Professor Byrne completed a BSc and MSc degrees at the University of Auckland before commencing a PhD degree at the ANU in 1981. Following the completion of the degree in Department of Nuclear Physics he held positions with the University of Melbourne and spent over two years in Bonn, Germany as a von Humboldt fellow. He returned to the ANU in 1989 as a Research Fellow and in 1991 commenced a joint appointment between the Department of Physics, in the Faculty of Science and the Department of Nuclear Physics, Research School of Physical Sciences and Engineering. He was Head of the Department of Physics from 2003 to 2007.

His research interests involve the use of gamma-rays as probes to determine the structure of heavy nuclei and as probes in the examination of the atomic level structure of materials (especially semiconductors); he has published over 200 papers.