NECTAR Custodians

The NECTAR Custodians are the ECA-leadership of NECTAR, they are volunteers who actively participate in the development and delivery of NECTAR initiatives. The Custodian team ensures that NECTAR remains an independent, accessible and supportive space for ECAs who want to make a difference. The team of Custodians is led by the NECTAR Co-Chairs.

The role of the Custodians is to:

  • regularly engage with NECTAR, e.g. attend NECTAR business meetings
  • contribute to the development and delivery of NECTAR initiatives
  • help promote NECTAR initiatives within the ANU Colleges.

The Custodian role is a voluntary role. ECAs can join the Custodian team at any time and for as long as they want, a commitment for at least 6 months is encouraged. Custodians are encouraged to take on the role of School Representative for their local area.

If you would like to join the Custodian team, please contact the NECTAR Office or submit your Expression of Interest here.

Amita Bansal

ANU College of Health and Medicine

John Curtin School of Medical Research and ANU Medical School

amita.bansal@anu.edu.au

NECTAR is a platform that empowers ECAs from across different schools and colleges of ANU to come together and contribute to the strategic discussions on fostering academic and personal development, enhancing representation of ECAs across campuses, and nestle a sense of community. I am humbled to be a part of this diverse and inclusive group, and with my academic training and experience from Scotland, New Zealand and United States, I hope to provide an international perspective and help in collectively achieving the objectives of NECTAR. Further, with my recent appointment as a University House ECA Fellow, I also hope to continue strengthening the cross-talk between the two groups.

Kristin Barry

ANU College of Health and Medicine

John Curtin School of Medical Research

kristin.barry@anu.edu.au

Ian Carter

ANU College of Science

Research School of Physics

ian.carter@anu.edu.au

Xuan Di

ANU College of Health and Medicine

Research School of Psychology

xuan.di@anu.edu.au

I have some HR experience and worked in non-profit organisation management for some years before deciding to pin my career focus to academia. I have experienced the life of an ECA (PhD candidate) as a mother of two – it's not easy. But it is possible because of people who care for me and look after me. I want to return the favour by making the voice of others heard and finding solutions to make improvements.

Mari Kondo – NECTAR Co-Chair

ANU College of Health and Medicine

John Curtin School of Medical Research

mari.kondo@anu.edu.au

My Co-Chair profile...

Jo Lane

ANU College of Health and Medicine

Research School of Population Health

jo.lane@anu.edu.au

Jo is a research fellow and clinical psychologist, working with a multidisciplinary team of researchers across the Australian National University on the Our Health in Our Hands project to improve the quality of life of people living with multiple sclerosis. Her research interests intersect across psychology, health research, population health, translational research, personalised medicine and communication in science. Jo is passionate about people, optimal brain health, wellbeing, resilience, growth, empowerment-based leadership and gender equity.

Bin Lu – NECTAR Co-Chair

ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science

Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineering

bin.lu@anu.edu.au

My Co-Chair profile...

Hieu Nguyen – NECTAR Co-Chair

ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science

Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineering

hieu.nguyen@anu.edu.au

My Co-Chair profile...

Sean Perera

ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

sean.perera@anu.edu.au

Victor Rivera

ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science

Research School of Computer Science

victor.rivera@anu.edu.au

Ulrike Schumann

ANU College of Health and Medicine

John Curtin School of Medical Research

ulrike.schumann@anu.edu.au

For me, NECTAR is a fantastic way to connect to Early Career Researchers and build a support network. I have faced some challenging times and the NECTAR Mentoring program has been crucial for me to come through those. I feel passionate about advocating the opportunities that NECTAR offers and I want to give a voice to Early Career Researchers and help streamline those opportunities.

Hamish Simmonds

ANU College of Business and Economics

Research School of Management

hamish.simmonds@anu.edu.au

Matt Thompson

ANU College of Science

Research School of Physics

matt.a.thompson@anu.edu.au

Kai Zhang – NECTAR Co-Chair

ANU College of Asia and the Pacific

School of Culture, History and Language

kai.zhang@anu.edu.au

My Co-Chair profile...

NECTAR Advisers

NECTAR Advisers are former Custodians who remain connected with the NECTAR leadership in an advisory capacity.

Aditya Chopra

ANU College of Science

Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics

aditya.chopra@anu.edu.au

Harry Rolf

Australian Academy of Technology & Engineering

harry.rolf@anu.edu.au