NECTAR Custodians

ECA volunteers who make up the NECTAR leadership are called NECTAR Custodians. The Custodian team ensures that the NECTAR space remains an independent, accessible and supportive space for ECAs who want to make a difference.

Custodians are active members of NECTAR and regularly attend NECTAR meetings and/or contribute otherwise to NECTAR initiatives. NECTAR Custodians usually also take on the role of College Contacts.

If you are interested in becoming a NECTAR Custodian, please contact the NECTAR office.

Lachlan Black

ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science

Research School of Engineering

lachlan.black@anu.edu.au

Siobhan Bourke

ANU College of Health and Medicine

Research School of Population Health

siobhan.bourke@anu.edu.au

Chris Browne

ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science

Research School of Engineering

chris.browne@anu.edu.au

Aditya Chopra

ANU College of Science

Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics

Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science

aditya.chopra@anu.edu.au

Deborah Cleland

ANU College of Asia and the Pacific

School of Regulation and Global Governance (RegNet)

deborah.cleland@anu.edu.au

NECTAR is important to me because it provides mentoring, advocacy and networking support for early-career researchers.

Britta Förster

ANU College of Science

Research School of Biology

britta.forster@anu.edu.au

Being part of NECTAR is a unique opportunity to get to know and connect with my peers across disciplines at ANU. I feel through NECTAR we have gained an empowered, collective voice to drive change at ANU.

Benjamin Garvey

ANU College of Asia and the Pacific

The Australian Centre on China in the World

benjamin.garvey@anu.edu.au

Ekavi Georgousopoulou

ANU College of Health and Medicine

ANU Medical School

ekavi.georgousopoulou@anu.edu.au

Rebecca Gidley

ANU College of Asia and the Pacific

Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs

rebecca.gidley@anu.edu.au

For me, involvement in NECTAR is important as a venue to advocate for the rights and wellbeing of casual staff members at ANU which is an increasingly common path for early-career researchers and teachers.

Umme Habiba Hossain

ANU College of Science

Research School of Physics

habiba.hossain@anu.edu.au

As an early-career academic, I love to share my knowledge with other academics and love to hear other possible information to extend my career. NECTAR is an ideal platform to build a network with innovative and interesting people across ANU. This gives me the opportunity to engage in exciting discussions with people from academia, industry and broader society.

Hilary Howes

ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

School of Archaeology and Anthropology

hilary.howes@anu.edu.au

NECTAR has brought me into contact with early-career academics across campus whom I would not have met otherwise. I value the opportunity to share experiences and ideas with these new-found peers, as well as the collective voice NECTAR offers on issues of general concern to early-career academics.

Farzaneh Kordbacheh

ANU College of Health and Medicine

John Curtin School of Medical Research

farzaneh.kordbacheh@anu.edu.au

NECTAR to me is a community of ECAs who work for empowering and nurturing ECAs. They all come together regardless of gender, ethnicity, age and discipline to create better opportunities for ECAs at ANU.

France Meyer

ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

Centre for Arab and Islamic Studies

france.meyer@anu.edu.au

NECTAR for me creates a welcoming and supportive environment for ECAs of all disciplines who wish to embrace and share what ANU offers, while actively collaborating to improve their career opportunities and status in a spirit of diversity and inclusiveness.

Claudia Munera Roldan

ANU College of Science

Fenner School of Environment and Society

claudia.munera@anu.edu.au

NECTAR has been very important for networking with people from different disciplines across the university and is a unique and friendly space for collaboration and learning from our colleagues.

Georgia Pike

ANU College of Health and Medicine

Research School of Population Health

ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

School of Music

georgia.pike@anu.edu.au

For years NECTAR has provided me with opportunities to feel like an active and valued part of the ANU community, and to become familiar with the broader context of the ANU and the university sector. Most importantly, through NECTAR I have made contacts and genuine friendships with people from every discipline imaginable. These friends and colleagues have proved invaluable to me personally and professionally. It is a wonderful feeling to be able to help others, and to know where to go in order to seek support. We all need it!

Mohammad Saadatfar

ANU College of Science

Research School of Physics

mohammad.saadatfar@anu.edu.au

Dmitry Shishmarev

ANU College of Health and Medicine

John Curtin School of Medical Research

dmitry.shishmarev@anu.edu.au

I believe that NECTAR provides an important platform for early-career academics at ANU to network, build collaborations and express their collective voice at various levels of management at the University.

Trang Ta

ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

School of Archaeology and Anthropology

tx.ta@anu.edu.au

NECTAR is a community of diverse early-career scholars interested in building a supportive, inclusive and visionary university.

Chris Wallace

ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

School of History

chris.wallace@anu.edu.au

Tom Worthington

ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science

Research School of Computer Science

tom.worthington@anu.edu.au