NECTAR Custodians

The NECTAR Custodians are the ECA-leadership of NECTAR, they are volunteers who actively participate in the development and delivery of NECTAR initiatives. The Custodian team ensures that NECTAR remains an independent, accessible and supportive space for ECAs who want to make a difference. The team of Custodians is led by the NECTAR Co-Chairs.

The role of the Custodians is to:

  • regularly engage with NECTAR, e.g. attend NECTAR business meetings
  • contribute to the development and delivery of NECTAR initiatives
  • help promote NECTAR initiatives within the ANU Colleges.

The Custodian role is a voluntary role. ECAs can join the Custodian team at any time and for as long as they want, a commitment for at least 6 months is encouraged. Custodians are encouraged to take on the role of School Representative for their local area.

If you would like to join the Custodian team, please contact the NECTAR Office or submit your Expression of Interest here.

Amita Bansal

ANU College of Health and Medicine

ANU Medical School

John Curtin School of Medical Research

amita.bansal@anu.edu.au

NECTAR is a platform that empowers ECAs from across different schools and colleges of ANU to come together and contribute to the strategic discussions on fostering academic and personal development, enhancing representation of ECAs across campuses, and nestle a sense of community. I am humbled to be a part of this diverse and inclusive group, and with my academic training and experience from Scotland, New Zealand and United States, I hope to provide an international perspective and help in collectively achieving the objectives of NECTAR. Further, with my recent appointment as a University House ECA Fellow, I also hope to continue strengthening the cross-talk between the two groups.

Kristin Barry

ANU College of Health and Medicine

John Curtin School of Medical Research

kristin.barry@anu.edu.au

Siobhan Bourke

ANU College of Health and Medicine

Research School of Population Health

siobhan.bourke@anu.edu.au

Anna Buckley

ANU College of Asia and the Pacific

Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs

glynnis-anne.buckley@anu.edu.au

Aditya Chopra

ANU College of Science

Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics

Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science

aditya.chopra@anu.edu.au

Deborah Cleland

ANU College of Asia and the Pacific

School of Regulation and Global Governance (RegNet)

deborah.cleland@anu.edu.au

NECTAR is important to me because it provides mentoring, advocacy and networking support for early-career researchers.

Maria Dahm

ANU College of Art and Social Sciences

School of Literature, Languages and Linguistics

maria.dahm@anu.edu.au

Xuan Di

ANU College of Health and Medicine

Research School of Psychology

xuan.di@anu.edu.au

I have some HR experience and worked in non-profit organisation management for some years before deciding to pin my career focus to academia. I have experienced the life of an ECA (PhD candidate) as a mother of two – it's not easy. But it is possible because of people who care for me and look after me. I want to return the favour by making the voice of others heard and finding solutions to make improvements.

Rachel England

ANU College of Science

Fenner School of Environment and Society

rachel.england@anu.edu.au

Britta Förster

ANU College of Science

Research School of Biology

britta.forster@anu.edu.au

Being part of NECTAR is a unique opportunity to get to know and connect with my peers across disciplines at ANU. I feel through NECTAR we have gained an empowered, collective voice to drive change at ANU.

Hilary Howes

ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

School of Archaeology and Anthropology

hilary.howes@anu.edu.au

NECTAR has brought me into contact with early-career academics across campus whom I would not have met otherwise. I value the opportunity to share experiences and ideas with these new-found peers, as well as the collective voice NECTAR offers on issues of general concern to early-career academics.

Siva Karuturi

ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science

Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineering

ANU College of Science

Research School of Physics

siva.karuturi@anu.edu.au

Ehsan Kheradpezhouh

ANU College of Health and Medicine

John Curtin School of Medical Research

ehsan.kheradpezhouh@anu.edu.au

Mari Kondo – NECTAR Co-Chair

ANU College of Health and Medicine

John Curtin School of Medical Research

mari.kondo@anu.edu.au

My Co-Chair profile...

Farzaneh Kordbacheh

ANU College of Health and Medicine

John Curtin School of Medical Research

farzaneh.kordbacheh@anu.edu.au

NECTAR to me is a community of ECAs who work for empowering and nurturing ECAs. They all come together regardless of gender, ethnicity, age and discipline to create better opportunities for ECAs at ANU.

Penny Kyburz

ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science

Research School of Computer Science

penny.kyburz@anu.edu.au

Mathieu Leclerc

ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

School of Archaeology and Anthropology

mathieu.leclerc@anu.edu.au

Eduardo Leite

ANU College of Asia and the Pacific

School of Regulation and Global Governance (RegNet)

eduardo.leite@anu.edu.au

Although I am still in an early stage of my career, contributing to NECTAR's initiatives is an excellent way of academic engagement and sharing ideas.

Bin Lu – NECTAR Co-Chair

ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science

Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineering

bin.lu@anu.edu.au

My Co-Chair profile...

France Meyer

ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

Centre for Arab and Islamic Studies

france.meyer@anu.edu.au

NECTAR for me creates a welcoming and supportive environment for ECAs of all disciplines who wish to embrace and share what ANU offers, while actively collaborating to improve their career opportunities and status in a spirit of diversity and inclusiveness.

Claudia Munera Roldan

ANU College of Science

Fenner School of Environment and Society

claudia.munera@anu.edu.au

NECTAR has been very important for networking with people from different disciplines across the university and is a unique and friendly space for collaboration and learning from our colleagues.

Hieu Nguyen – NECTAR Co-Chair

ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science

Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineering

hieu.nguyen@anu.edu.au

My Co-Chair profile...

Sean Perera

ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

sean.perera@anu.edu.au

Victor Rivera

ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science

Research School of Computer Science

victor.rivera@anu.edu.au

Harry Rolf

ANU Australia Studies Institute

harry.rolf@anu.edu.au

Mohammad Saadatfar

ANU College of Science

Research School of Physics

mohammad.saadatfar@anu.edu.au

Ulrike Schumann

ANU College of Health and Medicine

John Curtin School of Medical Research

ulrike.schumann@anu.edu.au

For me, NECTAR is a fantastic way to connect to Early Career Researchers and build a support network. I have faced some challenging times and the NECTAR Mentoring program has been crucial for me to come through those. I feel passionate about advocating the opportunities that NECTAR offers and I want to give a voice to Early Career Researchers and help streamline those opportunities.

Trang Ta

ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

School of Archaeology and Anthropology

tx.ta@anu.edu.au

NECTAR is a community of diverse early-career scholars interested in building a supportive, inclusive and visionary university.

Matt Thompson

ANU College of Science

Research School of Physics

matt.a.thompson@anu.edu.au

Dandan Tian

ANU College of Health and Medicine

ANU Medical School

dan.tian@anu.edu.au

Richard Vogt

ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences

School of Politics and International Relations

richard.vogt@anu.edu.au

Kai Zhang – NECTAR Co-Chair

ANU College of Asia and the Pacific

School of Culture, History and Language

kai.zhang@anu.edu.au

My Co-Chair profile...